I finally have a short break in my hectic work schedule and the first thing I’m dying to do is post an update!

A little side note first….

In my first trimester, way back in 2011, one of my major food aversions was lettuce and other deep greens like kale, spinach, arugula, you name it… if it was green and leafy it grossed me out. And I was a real greens lover before being pregnant, so you can imagine what a shock it was to suddenly hate the thought of all that healthy food.

Well the bad news is… over two years later, I’m still so-so on greens. And it’s making healthy eating really tricky, because where I used to be able to steam some spinach, fry some rapini, or make an arugula salad… none of these appeal to me anymore. So I finally understand what it’s like to be a person who doesn’t like greens, and I get the fact that when you feel this way, the last thing in the world you want to eat is a whole forkful of the stuff.

Enter, my current most favorite toddler recipe creation….

Last week I decided this problem had to be solved… and the solution I created ended up being the most delicious, toddler friendly recipe EVER — my daughter ate it all up and loved it.

You MUST try it, it’s soooo yummy:

I’m calling it…..

BABY GREEN FRIED RICE

 

Gather:

– 1 small bunch curly or flat kale (we used flat) or spinach – diced very finely.
– Two eggs
– 1 medium onion (diced small)
– 1.5 cups cooked, cooled brown rice (can be done the day before if you want a 20 minute weeknight meal)
– 2 cloves garlic (grated or pressed)

What to do:

1. Fry garlic and onion on medium heat in a heated, oiled, non-stick pan. Allow them to lightly brown.
2. Add 2 eggs into pan and scramble “in situ” – right there in the pan, all around the onions.
3. Add cooked, cooled brown rice (I got the cool part from chinese fried rice recipe – it helps with texture)
4. continue to mix together on medium to high heat until the rice is sizzling. Add a dash of tamari and a teaspoon of rice vinegar (or other favourite seasonings).
5. Add chopped greens to pan, mix all together, reduce heat and cover for 5 minutes.

Ready to eat – enjoy!

20130813-203320.jpg

2 thoughts on “Getting kids to eat more greens

Love to hear your thoughts! (Leave a comment)

