I started this quest with an interest in making an origami mobile for my baby’s room, but with lots of searching and some careful thought, I’ve been swayed more toward the butterfly mobile. Although origami mobiles (as pictured) are exotic looking, they seem like they would be very labor intensive with a short lifespan…

butterfly mobile, origami mobile, best, how to make a mobile, mobile, nursery, origami, pinterest
butterfly mobile, origami mobile, how to make a mobile, mobile, nursery, origami, pinterest, best

The one pictured above is a mix of shapes and animals, from fish to cranes to pointy balls, and it was the first to inspire me. But it’s not so much a DIYMPLE (DIY Mamma Project that Looks Easy) as a… PRIC (Project that’s really complicated?). In any case, I would use YouTube for a head start on the animals (crane video here, fish video instructions here) and then string them together just like the mobiles below, with fishing wire and sewing circles. If you have an ambitious and talented group, this is also a great baby shower activity! At least then you can source some help on all that Orgami.

When I discovered the “punchout” I shifted gears and really fell in love with this butterfly version:

Paper Butterfly Mobile
Paper Butterfly Mobile

More pictures and instructions availableĀ on the original blog it’s from here.

The butterfly punchout is available at giant art stores (Michael’s in Canada) or on Amazon here. I found the size a bit smaller than I would have liked but that just means…. more butterflies! You can also get the non-monarch butterfly which has no holes and would look more like this (below):

Butterfly Mobile

Butterfly Mobile

Full tutorial for this one is available here (by its creator Carina Gardner)

I haven’t made mine yet but I will be sure to post my pics and tips once complete!

Love to hear your thoughts! (Leave a comment)

